Photos from the Galapagos Islands

Welcome to Galapagos Images

The Galapagos Islands are a group of volcanic islands situated in the Pacific Ocean just west of the coast of Ecuador in South America. Together, they cover an area of 7,880 square kilometers, and have a population of around 26,640 people.

There are 18 main islands, which make up the group:
North Seymour Island
Pinta (Louis) Island
San Cristobal
Santa Cruz
Santa Fe

The Galapagos Islands are known for their iconic scenery, endemic wildlife and history. The islands famously inspired Charles Darwin to come up with his Theory of Evolution.

Even though the Islands are situated on the equator, the water is cold for most of the year due to the Humboldt current, which can cause frequent rainfall, mist and fog. However during the summer seasons, the sea temperature rises to the high 20’s accompanied by bright sunlight throughout the day.

The Islands have become famous for their marine wildlife. There are also many iconic species  which can be found on the islands, from mammals such as the Galapagos Fur Seal to reptiles such as the Marine Iguana. The Islands host around 24 bird species including endemic species such as the Galapagos Hawk and the Galapagos Penguin.

The Galapagos Islands are under threat from human intervention and population growth. An increasing threat is the introduction of animals such goats, cattle and cats. Overfishing, and out of control tourism in some areas are also becoming a problem.